Weird Second Diagnostic Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Ludacrispat26

Bronze

Weird Second Diagnostic

Post by Ludacrispat26 » Sun Aug 08, 2010 11:48 am

I am taking the TestMasters course and scored a 159 on my original diag. I took the second one yesterday (October '08) and our class was told not to expect an increase because we're learning new methods and it takes time to apply them properly. My instructor even said if we go up significantly we are probably going too fast. I scored a 167 (-8 LR, -4 RC, -1 LG), raw of 87. Funny thing is that I am not very good at LG; on the experimental LG section they gave us for the test, which I think was from another real PT, I scored 10/23 rather than the 22/23 on the real section. We have our review session tonight, but I was wondering if anyone in the course or in general could help. Anything significant about the OCT 08 LG or test in general?

arewhyaen

New

Re: Weird Second Diagnostic

Post by arewhyaen » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:40 pm

Well the experimental games section that they gave for diag 2 was particularly hard, so don't be worried about that. But games two and four were hard for the scored section, so the fact that you got both those games and escaped with a -1 I believe shows your capabilities. The reading comp was a little more difficult on this diag if I remember correctly also. Seriously, talk-stories? I dont understand the notion of "improving too fast." If you're getting the concepts, then you're fine. Congrats on the improvement :)

lawman2010

Bronze

Post by lawman2010 » Sun Aug 08, 2010 1:52 pm

Here's what I think:

I took the GMAT and my practice tests were very consistent with what I achieved on the actual test. Like, exactly. I took five practice tests. Two were exactly 700 (which is what I actually scored) and the other three were all right around 700.

For the LSAT, my practice tests were all over the map. Lowest: 159, Highest: 176. Actual: 163