RC studying source Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Alucard

New

RC studying source

Post by Alucard » Sat Jul 03, 2010 7:43 am

I have a lot of trouble with RC section (time and comprehending issues). My background is in engineering so I am not used to reading humanities, social sciences and law passages (even tho I found law passages interesting and easier to understand). I initially studied Kaplan books for June 2010 test which was so disappointing. I switched to powerscore bibles for LG and LR (in preparing for Oct retake) but I heard RC bible isn't as good. SO what good materials out there are the best in preparing for RC sections? I know some say read Economist and wall-street journals but I only have 3 months to studying and that strategy takes years to develop your speed and familiarity with dense and dry topics. So any sources out there that would help me with RC in terms of reading and answering the questions strategy?

MURPH

Silver

Re: RC studying source

Post by MURPH » Sat Jul 03, 2010 9:11 am

I was unable to find any good prep material. Kaplan is weak and the Bibles are as good as they get. If you haven't tried the RC Bible, then try it.
I would try to buy all of the available PTs and do everyone of them. If you are weak on RC then do ten of them (40 passages) over the course of two or three days without a timer. Then carefully review your answers, obviously focusing on the errors but also seriously looking at your strengths too. It is important to know what you are good at not just what your errors are.
Go over every answer in detail. Why is each answer choice right or wrong? How do the writers of the test try to mislead you? What clues do they give you, what patterns do you see.
Do ten more with a 35 minute time limit.
Just keep doing the PTs, every one of them until you find it easy. Then start doing it in 33 minutes instead of 35.

Anaconda

Silver

Post by Anaconda » Sat Jul 03, 2010 12:46 pm