New to lsat..need help starting off please Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
maniac0788

New

New to lsat..need help starting off please

Post by maniac0788 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 2:57 pm

Hello,

I am completely new to the lsat. I have not tried taking a PT or tried looking at the type of questions that make up the lsat.

Can someone give me a few pointers on where to start? How should I go about preparing for this exam? I need someone to help guide me in the right direction so that I can begin preparing for the lsat.

I was thinking about purchasing Powerscore Logic Games Bible (LGB) and Powerscore Logical Reasoning Bible (LRB) to start off with. Do you think these books are a good start for a person who is just beginning to prepare for the lsat and has no idea of how to handle the type of questions that are on the lsat?

I plan on taking the October 2010 lsat.

Thanks in advance
ES

theavrock

Silver

Re: New to lsat..need help starting off please

Post by theavrock » Sat Mar 20, 2010 3:05 pm

Yes those books will give you a great start but do not rely solely on them for your prep. Since you are just starting out and have some time, I would highly suggest reviewing Pithypike's method of study. It is very detailed and organized. I took the June 09 test and wish I would have put in place a more detailed study plan. I am using a modified version of the Pithypike's suggestions.

In addition to the first post of that thread there are some other great advice sprinkled throughout.

Benvenuto10

New

Post by Benvenuto10 » Sat Mar 20, 2010 9:14 pm

The reality is, true "LSAT Prep" can be expensive. In an ideal scenario, you would have some disposable income to pay for your preparation.

The Powerscore Bibles have proven themselves quite valuable, as has the full length Powerscore course. Collectively those items could cost you around 1500.00.