How much can I make as a private lsat tutor? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
macaulian

New

How much can I make as a private lsat tutor?

Post by macaulian » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:17 pm

So I just got a 178, and I figure I would enjoy doing LSAT tutoring. I have been teaching for the past two years in a high school (one of the classes I taught was logic), and I was a mathematics supplemental instructor in college. How much do you figure I could make per hour tutoring? Ive been charging 35 for math tutoring.

fathergoose

Silver

Re: How much can I make as a private lsat tutor?

Post by fathergoose » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:23 pm

Lots of variables like if you are doing it on your own or working for a prep company Or if you are any good at it but at least $20/hr.

I work for a prep company teaching LSAT and it's a pretty cush job. After you teach for a little while it is as easy as rolling out of bed.

DoctorNick189

Bronze

Post by DoctorNick189 » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:31 pm

The good prep companies (PowerScore) pay 50 $/hr for tutoring. If you go out on your own, you can probably pull in around 100 $/hr in a big city, but you'll have to hustle for clients, make sure you get paid, develop your own materials, etc.

OHKC42

New

Post by OHKC42 » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:25 am

I had a tutor who received same score. Paid him $50/hr. I was his first client, though, and in retrospect, probably overpaid a bit...he'd yet to prove that his methods worked for anyone other than himself! Although, my score did improve with him, and I am happy with my score, which was a 169. (Diagnostic was 157.) Maybe charge $35/40 until you have a few successful clients to prove that you're legit/effective, then raise your price!

HiLine

Bronze

Post by HiLine » Mon Mar 01, 2010 12:58 am

How many hours would you expect to work per week? Just in order to estimate how much a private LSAT tutor can earn a year.

Want to continue reading?