Does this study plan sound good? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
SeanB

New

Does this study plan sound good?

Post by SeanB » Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:32 pm

I'm taking the October test. I want to use the PowerScore methods, and unfortunately, all of their classes are near Harvard. I live on the other side of town I'm a full-time teacher, and I'm involved in a political campaign. The two nights per week from 6-10, on the other side of town is not good for me. On the other the other hand, I have bunch of time over the summer to study my butt off, my weekends are free, and PS offers a free retake, as long as it's for a different session.

This is my plan of attack. If it matters, my main weakness is Logic Games. I am strong in the other two areas and strongest in LR. My preliminary goal is near perfect scores in both LR and RC and good enough LG to get me 170 or higher.

1. From now until May, study independently the Kaplan primer, Powerscore LG bible, maybe the the LR bible, and do a few practice tests to prepare for the PS weekend class.

2 Use what I learn at the weekend class to focus my studies and work hard on my own during the summer focusing on perfecting LR and RC and getting my LG's to reasonable level. I can also get some tutoring from time to time from friend who scored 175.

3. Take the free retake of the weekend class in September with a much better understanding of everything, especially the LG. Focus on the most advanced RC and LR, and use the instructor to fill in the gaps, especially in the LG's, that I wasn't able to solve on my own.

4. At or right after the second weekend, Determine a target score and personal strategy for test day.

5. Study like hell until the test - practice tests, practice tests, practice tests, analyze, analyze, analyze.

6. Destroy the test and add Harvard to my list when my 180 comes back (OK, just kidding). I'll take 175 and BC with good money. 3.6/180 is still a stretch for Harvard.