LSAT Test Day Stress--Managing Test Anxiety?? Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
ljbc03

New

LSAT Test Day Stress--Managing Test Anxiety??

Post by ljbc03 » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:34 pm

I took the Feb test and felt very prepared walking in. However, as the test progressed I got nervous and I couldn't think clearly. I think this hugely effected my score.

I walked in knowing I studied as much as I could and did every practice test I could, many of them twice. I was scoring mostly between 164-174 (my scores varied a lot-due to RC, I can't always finish).

For LG I always got -0 or -1.

When the test started, I got LG first. I did first two sets, great, then I froze on the third and got nervous that I couldn't pass the "wall" and was nervous through the rest of the set.

Normally, I could have pushed myself through during PTs, but it was much harder to think clearly on test day due to anxiety. I also felt it on RC as I cld barely remember the passage after reading it--none the less answer the questions.

I know a lot of people experience this.

Has anyone successfully found ways to manage this? Do any of you take medicine or have any sort of anxiety-coping methods that you've found work for text anxiety.

Thanks.

Knock

Platinum

Re: LSAT Test Day Stress--Managing Test Anxiety??

Post by Knock » Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:36 pm

ljbc03 wrote:I took the Feb test and felt very prepared walking in. However, as the test progressed I got nervous and I couldn't think clearly. I think this hugely effected my score.

I walked in knowing I studied as much as I could and did every practice test I could, many of them twice. I was scoring mostly between 164-174 (my scores varied a lot-due to RC, I can't always finish).

For LG I always got -0 or -1.

When the test started, I got LG first. I did first two sets, great, then I froze on the third and got nervous that I couldn't pass the "wall" and was nervous through the rest of the set.