LSAT Prep Suggestions Forum

Prepare for the LSAT or discuss it with others in this forum.
Camron

New

LSAT Prep Suggestions

Post by Camron » Wed Dec 30, 2009 11:42 pm

Hello Guys/Gals,

I am a first time poster and was hoping I could have some feedback or any advice for prepping to get a 160+ on the LSAT.

I studied approximately 8 weeks last year for the Feb 09 exam (my problem was that I mastered LG in the summer through the LG Bible but did not continue to practice them until a month before my LSAT date in February, I ended up bombing the LG section due to time), and ended up scoring a 153 :( . My evaluation score was 165-168 but was not timed with scoring on the sheet. I am expected to write it again this February and planned to start prepping well in advance (October), but my workload and school load prevented me to do anything serious until last week :shock: .

I have realized so far I am still heavily struggling with the LG, on average completing 16 in the 35 minute time period. I have timed how long I have been setting up my diagrams, and it is averaging around 4 minutes (linking variables in the rules, drawing the not rules). After doing this, I am still noticing that for many of the Could Be or multi variable linear games, my time drops off considerably. I would be happy doing 3 games in 35 minutes and guessing the last, but even that seems far off. My accuracy is acceptable (20-22+ right) if I am not timed, but I know time is the biggest factor. Is there a specific strategy you guys are using that differs from PowerScore or Ace the LSAT Prep Course (I do not use Kaplan's method as I did not find it useful).