Imposter syndrome...how to deal Forum

Use this forum to discuss different legal practice areas with other attorneys.
d199

New

Imposter syndrome...how to deal

Post by d199 » Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:33 pm

Hey TLS,

I'm a recent grad studying for the bar. I have horrific (debilitating!) imposter syndrome. My LSAT was sub 25% for the T14 I attended. My 1L grades were below the median. Because of my grades and LSAT, I never felt smart enough to be around my peers. Granted, my grades improved 2L. But I still feel ~stupid~ most days.

I managed to get a job 2L, clerking with a regional office in a state where I have ties. I sent them my resume (GPA and all like a dumbass), and they hired me the next day. My time there was ok. But I always felt like everyone knew that ~I~ was the clerk with low grades. The other summer clerks I worked with were top of their class at a regional school.

Flash forward to now. I'm going to start as an associate at this firm in August. But boy do I have imposter syndrome. I'm wondering if TLSers have similar experiences or tips on how to handle this. Being a lawyer is stressful. But constantly feeling "less than" because of my grades will make it way worse. I go to therapy, try to stay positive, have a mental health regimen (meds and the whole thing). But this is gonna be killer. Any tips for getting over it?

And to be frank, the fact that most lawyers have imposter syndrome is not going to make me feel better given the above circumstances.

Thank you for any advice!

RunnerRunner

Bronze

Re: Imposter syndrome...how to deal

Post by RunnerRunner » Mon Jun 15, 2020 7:22 pm