Daily Life of an IP Forum

Use this forum to discuss different legal practice areas with other attorneys.
jeremiah123

New

Daily Life of an IP

Post by jeremiah123 » Thu Oct 25, 2018 11:26 am

Hey I'm a student learning about being an IP. Could someone describe what you would do daily?

KunAgnis

Bronze

Re: Daily Life of an IP

Post by KunAgnis » Fri Oct 26, 2018 7:01 am

You might want to define what you mean by "IP" and provide more parameters. Not trying to be a dick but this question is very open-ended and generic.

Thom

New

Post by Thom » Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:00 pm

If you mean intellectual property with patents courts (includes copywrites and trademark I believe too) then the good news is the license is good nation wide (since it's own court) bad news is a very low pass rate on its own additional bar exam plus even lawyers need a STEM undergrad degree so for many it's already too late unless they backtrack a bit. I considered it myself at one point but my undergrad wasn't applicable.

QContinuum

Post by QContinuum » Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:14 pm

Thom wrote:If you mean intellectual property with patents courts (includes copywrites and trademark I believe too) then the good news is the license is good nation wide (since it's own court) bad news is a very low pass rate on its own additional bar exam plus even lawyers need a STEM undergrad degree so for many it's already too late unless they backtrack a bit. I considered it myself at one point but my undergrad wasn't applicable.
A bit of wrong information in the post above.

The "patent bar" - see https://www.uspto.gov/learning-and-reso ... gistration - is only required for those seeking to practice in patent matters before the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. This basically means: 1) Patent prosecutors (i.e., the folks who draft patent applications and "prosecute" them before the USPTO to get an issued patent). And 2) Patent litigators who do post-grant work (IPRs) before the USPTO.