Best Law School Concentration financially. Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
hellster

New

Best Law School Concentration financially.

Post by hellster » Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:47 pm

I was wondering what concentration in law school would be the most financially viable regardless of which school you attended. I am not looking for arguments as to if you attend a certain school, this concentration would be better. I understand if you attend a T14 school, almost any concentration would be highly desirable, but lets say you attend a Tier 2, or even Tier 3 school, what concentration in law can have the most lucrative jobs after graduation.

awesomepossum

Silver

Post by awesomepossum » Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:48 pm

Patent. But you need a science/engineering background.

hellster

New

Post by hellster » Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:50 pm

Really, patent law??? I have a good science background, as I was a biochemistry major in undergrad. But, on average do you know how much a corporate lawyer makes, and likewise for a patent lawyer. From my limited research, it seems to me corporate lawyer makes the most money, but the problem is the law school you attend really matters in that case.

BlueDevilSarah

New

Post by BlueDevilSarah » Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:55 pm

Patent, definitely. GW Alums told me that I could expect at least 125k/yr first coming out.

patentlaw

New

Post by patentlaw » Mon Jun 18, 2007 3:13 pm

At a biglaw firm everyone gets paid the same. A corporate lawyer at a top firm gets paid the same as a patent lawyer. Salaries are lockstep which means everyone in the same class gets paid the same amount, if you take a look at salary charts for top firms, it's all based on what year you graduated law school in.

That said, it's easier to get a job in patent law than other fields (in my opinion). There's high demand and a finite supply, because only qualified lawyers can sit for the patent bar.