Presumption of innocence and Right to silence in US Law Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Jenny142

New

Presumption of innocence and Right to silence in US Law

Post by Jenny142 » Mon May 31, 2021 6:55 am

Hello everyone. I'm a law student, but not in US. My group is doing a research about presumption of innocence in US law. We have a question about the scope of presumption of innocence.
In my country's legal system, people understand that right to silence is considered to be a derivative rights from presumption of innocence. POI in my legal system can be applied in every stage of criminal proceedings, as well as Right to silence.
In the US Law, we find out that presumption of innocence is only applied in trial, not before trial (Bell v. Wolfish). It's still OK until the right to silence can be applied before the trial. So are there any conflicts between the scope of POI and Right to silence in US Law? I search on the Google about this issue. It only has some article about POI and detention before trial.
I'm very grateful if someone know the answer. Thank you so much.

cavalier1138

Re: Presumption of innocence and Right to silence in US Law

Post by cavalier1138 » Mon May 31, 2021 11:20 am

It's interesting to see a perspective on presumption-of-innocence that makes it the source of other rights. And I agree with what you've found so far: In the US system, the presumption is only really the source of substantive rights at trial. A criminal defendant's other rights in the US system (such as the right to remain silent) come from the Constitution and are independent of that presumption. I don't think any court has ever found the presumption itself to be a constitutional right, but it arguably falls under due process.