Where should I apply? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
sethnoorzad

New

Where should I apply?

Post by sethnoorzad » Thu Sep 15, 2016 5:42 pm

Hello there,

I am 23. I graduated in from UC Santa Barbara with my degree in philosophy in Dec 2013. I intend to apply to law school this cycle and start next year. My GPA is 3.36. I haven't taken the LSAT yet.

I had two F's in my 3rd year in Spring. I was just stressed and sad. My parents were divorcing. I just stopped going to those two classes. I don't know if that sounds any better than trying to pass and failing, lol. How should I explain this in an addendum? I genuinely was having a hard time and this was when my parents finally moved out of the same house. I don't want to sound insincere. At the end of the day my GPA is still workable even with the two F's, so maybe it would be better to say nothing. Ideas?

I'm asking for some ideas on where to apply and any other tips that people have.

Here are some things that I am thinking of when I am looking for schools to apply to:

I desire to become a criminal defense lawyer. I would like to do my small part to help people that are more vulnerable to being preyed upon by our criminal justice system than the average person. That's my dream. Prestige is not such an important quality for me in a school. Financial aid is very important to me, so I would like to apply to a few schools where my chances for aid are the highest. Location is important to me. I desire to live on the East coast. It doesn't matter if it's north or south. Anywhere from Massachusetts to Georgia sounds great to me. Rural or urban locations are both fine. I live in Reno, Nevada and I just desire to experience living in that part of the country. I guess my views are fairly liberal, to use such a general term, so I think I would be most comfortable at a school that mirrors my values.