Please help. Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
hannahb

New

Please help.

Post by hannahb » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:47 am

Hi! I just completed my first year in college. I'm currently majoring in Criminal Justice, but I'm considering minoring in Psychology or Philosophy. I plan on attending law school and have done pretty well on a few practice LSATs. I know people say Criminal Justice is the worst major for trying to get into law school, but I love it. This is strictly about whether I should minor in Psychology or Philosphy. Which one do you all believe will help me succeed on the LSAT and in law school? Thank you!

BeachBear

New

Re: Please help.

Post by BeachBear » Thu Jun 09, 2016 2:55 am

If you are serious about law school, then take the class that will get you the highest grade. Law school look at pretty much only three things 45% GPA, 45% LSAT and maybe 10% everything else, including major, interests, star charts, etc.

If you can get As in either one, then either one is good, pick the one you will enjoy the most because personally I have yet to hear from anyone in law school that their undergrad major helped them one way or another.

raven1231

Bronze

Post by raven1231 » Thu Jun 09, 2016 4:49 am

Neither will make a difference on LSAT success. As for what major makes better test takers, I think the correlation has more to do with self selection than the major somehow preparing students better.

HonestAdvice

Bronze

Post by HonestAdvice » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:42 am

CJ majors do poorly on the LSAT, because for the most part, only bad colleges offer CJ. There's nothing about it that is bad for law school in and of itself.

AntsInMyEyesJohnson

New

Post by AntsInMyEyesJohnson » Thu Jun 09, 2016 8:52 am

While Philosophy, depending on what you focus on, could give you a boost in picking up LSAT techniques quicker, I don't see how Psychology would help.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!