Part-Time Job Possible During Law School? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
autumnleaves

New

Part-Time Job Possible During Law School?

Post by autumnleaves » Wed Feb 24, 2016 2:34 pm

Hello,

I'm seriously considering a T14 school for next year (already been admitted), and I want to know if it is possible to maintain a part-time job without tanking my grades. I'm in my final year of undergrad now, working 25-30 hours a week and easily keeping a 4.0. I know that I'd have to cap employment at 20 hours in law school, but everything I'm reading tells me that's still too much.

Are any of you current law students with part-time jobs? If so, how are you managing? If not, how are you paying rent?

TheKisSquared

Silver

Re: Part-Time Job Possible During Law School?

Post by TheKisSquared » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:03 pm

Just an 0L with many lawyer friends, most of whom are very recent grads (last 5 years).

Do not take a part time job your 1L year.

My friends who did it regret it. My friends who did not felt they were much better able to focus on school. and did better because of it.

You pay your rent with loans. Max them out 1L year. If you take a job 2L year, it'll be better if your 1L grades are better.

The only type of employment I can say won't be an absolutely terrible idea is if it's something where
a) you have great control over your hours and
b) pays a lot per hour and
c) doesn't actually require you to work very often or during set times.

But even then I would strongly strongly caution against it.

emkay625

Gold

Post by emkay625 » Wed Feb 24, 2016 3:29 pm

I worked part-time all throughout law school, 20 hours a week and did well. However, I had a very flexible employer who basically would give me all of December and all of May off to focus on finals.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Wed Feb 24, 2016 8:09 pm