Law School --> Business? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
CoolerThanCooley

New

Law School --> Business?

Post by CoolerThanCooley » Sun Jul 19, 2015 2:31 pm

Background: I graduated in 2014 with a degree in anthropology (~3.8 GPA) from a decent public university. Since then, I've landed a cushy government job (low-level data analyst position); the job offers great security and solid benefits--and given my weak background and level of experience, I'm honestly pretty fortunate to have it.

Now here's the issue: I have a very strong interest in business, and I want to have a long-term career in the private sector. Deep down, I know that's where I belong and that's where I would thrive. My dream would be to eventually move up the corporate ladder or to start my own successful business venture and to become a CEO/CFO. Unfortunately, I don't have an academic background in business (or STEM) and I have no personal or professional connections in the corporate world.

Given my background, I don't think I can make the switch into business without a graduate education. And I can't get the corporate work experience needed to get an MBA from a selective, prestigious program. I've heard that some people who finish law school (and focus on corporate law coursework) are able to make the switch into corporate work. I know it's a three-year, $200K+ investment.... but I also know, given my timed practice test performance, that I can perform very well on the LSAT (170+.)

Do you guys think it's a good idea to go to a T14 law school in order to get a job in the (non-legal) corporate world? If not, what other options do I have?

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Law School --> Business?

Post by CanadianWolf » Sun Jul 19, 2015 2:34 pm

Consider enrolling in a part-time MBA program while continuing to work at your current position.

Otherwise, take the LSAT and/or GMAT to determine realistic options if you choose to study full-time.