Will this affect my GPA? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
KA631LGH

New

Will this affect my GPA?

Post by KA631LGH » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:52 am

I've been surfing through this forum and it was brought to my attention that "remedial" courses don't count towards your GPA when applying for law school. I am a junior in undergrad with a competitive GPA but in my first semester in undergrad I took a course called “Preparatory Math II.” Is this considered a remedial course? If so, will it affect my GPA when applying to law school? For what it's worth, the course number was “093” and I got an A in the class.

hephaestus

Gold

Re: Will this affect my GPA?

Post by hephaestus » Tue Oct 22, 2013 11:25 am

KA631LGH wrote:I've been surfing through this forum and it was brought to my attention that "remedial" courses don't count towards your GPA when applying for law school. I am a junior in undergrad with a competitive GPA but in my first semester in undergrad I took a course called “Preparatory Math II.” Is this considered a remedial course? If so, will it affect my GPA when applying to law school? For what it's worth, the course number was “093” and I got an A in the class.
If its on your transcript and has a credit value attached to it, it will likely be counted by LSAC.

twenty

Gold

Post by twenty » Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:29 pm

It will almost certainly not be counted by LSAC. The burden of proof is "counts unless clearly shown it shouldn't," but the fact that it's an 093 class and included "preparatory" in its title, it will almost definitely be seen as remedial and won't count.

KA631LGH

New

Post by KA631LGH » Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:33 pm

twentypercentmore wrote:It will almost certainly not be counted by LSAC. The burden of proof is "counts unless clearly shown it shouldn't," but the fact that it's an 093 class and included "preparatory" in its title, it will almost definitely be seen as remedial and won't count.