Legal Academia Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
Otunga

Silver

Legal Academia

Post by Otunga » Mon Mar 18, 2013 10:19 am

How's the market for legal professors? Further, if one wants to go into legal academia, which are the best schools to go to? I've read that Yale and Chicago are the best for those who want legal academia and especially for those with philosophical interests. (I majored in philosophy and will likely be attending a Masters program in the Fall.)

It seems to me that the legal academic job market is significantly better than the humanities job market, which is absolutely horrendous (so may not be saying much). And it does seem fairly common for legal professors to teach in various other departments, like philosophy, economics and political science.

Bronck

Gold

Re: Legal Academia

Post by Bronck » Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:06 pm

Market = abysmal
Schools to go to = Y > HS.

See FlightoftheEarls's post:
http://www.top-law-schools.com/forums/v ... a#p4188514

Otunga

Silver

Post by Otunga » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:06 pm

I see. Then legal academia is more elitist than philosophy academia, though both have such issues.

I've checked out Yale's course selection. Love it. If I apply to law schools and have the requisite numbers (my LSAC GPA's 3.92, have a June LSAT) then I'm giving it a shot. To me, it's the big ones or bust. I don't have enough of a desire to be a practicing lawyer to justify attending a law school that gives me bad prospects for academia.

star fox

Diamond

Post by star fox » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:26 pm

Keep in mind there could (hopefully will) be big changes coming to Law Schools. If schools aren't getting enough applicants they'll have to shut down/cut faculty. Could make it extremely difficult to enter legal academia.

dextermorgan

Silver

Post by dextermorgan » Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:27 pm

Otunga wrote:I see. Then legal academia is more elitist than philosophy academia, though both have such issues.