Another "should I do it"? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
iamanerd

New

Another "should I do it"?

Post by iamanerd » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:51 pm

I am a paralegal at a V10 litigation boutique. The lawyers here do some of the most interesting and high-profile work in the country. And yet a lot of them are miserable and have repeatedly urged me to not go to law school.

However, I know a people that put up with a lot more shit for a lot less than $200k/year with great job security. And a lot of the work they do is pretty interesting--they're miserable because there's just too much of it.

I have a 3.8 with a 174 LSAT, so I have a real chance at getting in anywhere, and I wouldn't go below CCN. I actually think I would enjoy certain aspects of being a litigator--I like analytical writing, and I also like schmoozing.

That said, my parents have NO MONEY, so I don't really have a safety net if I fail to get a BigLaw or LRAP-eligible job. The only other jobs I am attracted to are college professor or journalist, which is to say, not realistic options.

What do you think--worth the gamble?

FlanAl

Silver

Re: Another "should I do it"?

Post by FlanAl » Mon Dec 10, 2012 3:05 pm

iamanerd wrote:I am a paralegal at a V10 litigation boutique. The lawyers here do some of the most interesting and high-profile work in the country. And yet a lot of them are miserable and have repeatedly urged me to not go to law school.

However, I know a people that put up with a lot more shit for a lot less than $200k/year with great job security. And a lot of the work they do is pretty interesting--they're miserable because there's just too much of it.

I have a 3.8 with a 174 LSAT, so I have a real chance at getting in anywhere, and I wouldn't go below CCN. I actually think I would enjoy certain aspects of being a litigator--I like analytical writing, and I also like schmoozing.