Penn's JD/LLM Program with HKU Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
bobbyflayed

Bronze

Penn's JD/LLM Program with HKU

Post by bobbyflayed » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:16 pm

Answered* thanks
Last edited by bobbyflayed on Sun Jul 08, 2012 9:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PowderedWater

New

Re: Penn's JD/LLM Program with HKU

Post by PowderedWater » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:34 pm

I'm no expert on the subject, but it doesn't seem to be all that great of a program. For one, the idea of going to HKU during the final year of law school seems to cut your chances at being hired by a firm, given that you won't be around (presumably) to participate in recruiting events and what have you, at UPenn.

Furthermore:

tfleming09 wrote:Before anyone else posts it

You don't hear anything about the JD/LLM combo because it's generally a worthless cost and time sink

bobbyflayed

Bronze

Post by bobbyflayed » Sun Jul 08, 2012 3:43 pm

Any other downsides besides 3L recruiting?

When would get offers after 2L SA gigs?

Would having that intl LLM boost me when I attempt the lateral move to Asia after a few years practicing in the US?

r6_philly

Diamond

Post by r6_philly » Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:18 pm

bobbyflayed wrote:Any other downsides besides 3L recruiting?

When would get offers after 2L SA gigs?

Would having that intl LLM boost me when I attempt the lateral move to Asia after a few years practicing in the US?
I was considering this for fun, mostly because I like to live in HK for a year. I hear conflicting stories on the program. My contacts in HK tells me that HKU isn't all that great, so benefit of getting a degree there is marginal. Although, having lived/studied there for a year will probably help your cause of trying to apply to a firm in HK.

I don't think it impacts 2L SA at all. You will do your summer, then get offer probably before/around September. I don't think many people do 3L OCI, although you can probably just take the time off to come back and do it.