Law school and parenthood... Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
TyrionLannister

Bronze

Law school and parenthood...

Post by TyrionLannister » Wed Mar 28, 2012 4:53 am

Apologies if this has been asked/answered before. As one can tell by my post count, I am a newbie.

I am currently 12 years deep in a career in the entertainment field. For a variety of factors, I am intending on making a career change into the legal field. I will be taking the June LSAT and hopefully begin school next year. I am married and have two kids - currently 4 years and 1.5 years old.

I was wondering if there is anyone else on these boards with kids who are planning on attending/currently attending/ or did attend law school. What have your experiences been like? Any advice to someone about to jump in?

My wife is very supportive and this move is as much for my family's well being as it is for mine. I know that time will be scarce, workloads will be heavy, and things will be rough during the first year especially. Having the benefit of maturity, I am not one to kid myself into thinking that this is an easy move. In order to give my children a more secure and stable future, however, it is a necessary move.

I would just love to hear from someone who has been there before...

Thank you in advance to anyone who is willing to share their advice. :D

KMaine

Silver

!!

Post by KMaine » Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:33 am

3L at Cornell here. Married with 3 children. PM me if you have any particular questions. In general, the work load of LS is a little overhyped. 1L is particularly difficult, but I still managed dinner with the family 95% of the time. The good news is that the work is very flexible; so you can work your life around it pretty easily. It seems like I was about your age when I started. Good luck. Kill the LSAT!

Oklahoma2014

New

Re: Law school and parenthood...

Post by Oklahoma2014 » Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:34 am