How much Undergraduate freshman's first term gpa matters? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ylee11

New

How much Undergraduate freshman's first term gpa matters?

Post by ylee11 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:45 am

Hello, I'm currently a college freshman in DC. I am planning to go to a law school after undergraduate.
Because my college is one of the most expensive schools in US, I am thinking about graduating early.
Yet, here comes a big trouble. I literally SCREWED my first semester by receiving 3.0 gpa.
I guess I was just crazy about being free from high school and becoming a college kid.
I know how stupid this is and I regret this now for every second I think about it.
Although I know this grade will definitely impact me a lot in law school admission, especially if I'm applying top law schools, I'd like to know how much impact it would be. In addition to not fulfilling 4 years but only 3 years of college (if I assume that I graduate early), wouldn't this grade become my drawback? I really hope to find a way to offset this bad grade, not only by getting good grades from now on but also by other activities if there is any. Your comments will be so essential in formulating my future plan.
Thank you

mel2010

Bronze

Re: How much Undergraduate freshman's first term gpa matters?

Post by mel2010 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 12:59 am

All a law school is going to care about gradewise is your cumulative undergrad GPA at the time when you apply (and possibly the fall semester of your senior year and/or spring semester of senior year, if they want updates). They are not going to look at an individual semester and judge you; particularly not the first semester. If anything, you're better off building upwards than downwards.

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:00 am

All that matters is your cumulative GPA. The only way to offset your current grades is to just get better grades from now on.