Does where you went Undergraduate matter? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
stompa

New

Does where you went Undergraduate matter?

Post by stompa » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:26 am

I am a sophomore and currently attend a Top 10 Public University studying Accounting and recently I have been doing a lot of thinking. In the spring semester senior year of high school I was accepted to some pretty good universities such as Brown, Stanford, University of Virginia, USC, Georgetown, and Boston College but I chose to go with the school I currently attend due to financial constraints (my parents are helping my sibling pay for medical school and other constraints as well). I'm in the honors program at this school and maintain a (what I would think) is a pretty good GPA sitting at roughly a 3.62 right now. Most of my good friends attend big shot schools like UPenn and Harvard and are making around the 3.1-3.4 range currently. I guess in light of the current job situation in the market for employment especially in Law it's really competitive from what I have seen and read. Like many other people's dreams I would love to attend a T20 Law School (I guess the ideal/dream for me would be UPenn more specifically). This has got me thinking to the fact that ultimately does a student 3.1-3.4 range GPA at an Ivy league school beat out the 3.62 at a mere good public university when it comes to applying to good law schools (assuming of course hypothetically that these students get around the same great LSAT score) simply because student one attended a good undergraduate school? With my hunch that student one gains the advantage I am starting to regret not going to a elite school. Should I be worried/regretful?

Thanks
Last edited by stompa on Mon Dec 26, 2011 3:21 am, edited 2 times in total.

NoleinNY

Silver

Re: Does where you went Undergraduate matter?

Post by NoleinNY » Sat Dec 24, 2011 5:39 am