Thinking about Law School at 41 Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
uh1999

New

Thinking about Law School at 41

Post by uh1999 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:55 am

Hello,

I am a 41 year old IT professional who is considering attending law school. The theme of my life is late bloomer-- I attended college at 24 and didn't enter the workforce until 30. I guess I was still "finding myself."

In college, I played Division I football at a mid-major college. My major was accounting. I graduated with distinction and with a 3.78 GPA. After working two years as an accountant, I became bored and caught the IT bug. I quit my job and attended an accelerated IT program, which earned me B.S. in Information Technology, with a 4.0, from a school whose admissions requirement is an active credit card.

I worked as an IT professional shortly in the private sector. Afterwards, I enlisted in the U.S. Army and served six years with three tours to Iraq. After my military service, I decided to work for a defense contractor, specializing in systems administration and integration, in the Washington, DC area.

My legal ambitions are prepare for the LSAT and to attend law school part time in the DC area. I am looking at George Mason and UDC, because of proximity (Mason is 20 minutes from my home) and cost (UDC is extremely cheap).

I plan to finance my legal education from my finances (loans are NOT an option, as I hate debt). Since I served in the military during a time of war, I was granted the 9/11 GI bill which allots $36,000 for higher education and monthly stipend. Further, my employer has a tuition reimbursement program that allots $8,000 per year. Between these two funding sources, my out-of-pocket expenses will be minimized greatly.