Pre-med to pre-law? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
vahopeful2012

New

Pre-med to pre-law?

Post by vahopeful2012 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:38 pm

I'm a long-time lurker but this is my first post here. I'm wondering about going to law school over medical school. I came into a 3rd tier college (full-ride was the only reason) pre-law, but switched to pre-med my sophomore year due to my parents' pressuring me. They are both doctors and are scared about the job market for lawyers. I'm in my second semester junior year and have registered for the MCAT in May. However, I'm having serious second-thoughts about pursuing medicine. My main reasons are that I don't really like blood, guts, etc. I have a 3.9 as a biochemistry major and managed A's in all my science classes.

I took a diagnostic LSAT and got a 163, missing only 2 in the logic games section. So I guess my main question concerns the job prospects for a lawyer and how you would recommend me to switch to the law admissions process. Most of my extracurriculars involve volunteering at a free clinic and hospital, in addition to serving on the exec board for the pre-med club. Any and all advice is welcome!

tourdeforcex

Bronze

Re: Pre-med to pre-law?

Post by tourdeforcex » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:44 pm

small opinion in a big world: if you have the passion and drive to finish a MD, you are more secure than investing in 3 years in law school. simply look at acceptance rate for med schools vs. law schools

really it comes down to this: consider what you have a comparative advantage. consider what you are passionate about. get in that space that is shared.

just thought of another thing: joint MD/JD programs.

rman1201

Silver

Post by rman1201 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 3:48 pm