What do you think about this article on the legal job market Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
senorhosh

Bronze

What do you think about this article on the legal job market

Post by senorhosh » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:42 pm

This is just ONE of the few recent articles about the legal job market.
http://blogs.seattleweekly.com/dailywee ... y_face.php

Since I'm completely new to this..
A. Was it always like this?
B. Are these mostly for those who go to a mediocre school, graduating with mediocre grades? Or are those who go to top 20-30 or graduate top 10% of their class typically exempt from this type of problem?

What do you think will happen in the next 5-10 years or so in the legal job market?

Anyway I just want more information on this. Thanks

ran12

Silver

Re: What do you think about this article on the legal job market

Post by ran12 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 3:14 pm

senorhosh wrote:This is just ONE of the few recent articles about the legal job market.

B. Are these mostly for those who go to a mediocre school, graduating with mediocre grades? Or are those who go to top 20-30 or graduate top 10% of their class typically exempt from this type of problem?

What do you think will happen in the next 5-10 years or so in the legal job market?

It's been like this for the better part of a decade or so. I would say top students are exempt from this situation. Even at the "worst" schools the top students will find something at a small firm. The problem is that people who have no idea what law school and law are like decide to go to law school and they screw up. Others go to law school b/c they're afraid of the economic climate and misinformed or just not ready to leave school and hope for better prospects later.

I've heard people argue that in the next decade or so that jobs will open up b/c of baby boomers retiring but that's complete bs b/c there are way too many lawyers to begin with that this argument is moot.