"extracurricular activities" Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
senorhosh

Bronze

"extracurricular activities"

Post by senorhosh » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:33 am

What do "extracurricular activities consist of for law school?

I'm a 4th year student (staying for 5th year) but I have no club membership, no volunteer work, etc.

1. How important is this for law school?
2. Should I start volunteering?
3. As a chemistry major, I'm not sure if I should work in labs or not because they might be "irrelevant" to law school.
So what should I do?

Thanks

beaniew

New

Re: "extracurricular activities"

Post by beaniew » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:38 am

your admission status will depend only upon your LSAT score and gpa.

Mustard Blood

New

Post by Mustard Blood » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:44 am

beaniew wrote:your admission status will depend only upon your LSAT score and gpa.

From what I've read, this seems to be about 95-98% true.

TheTallOne0602

New

Post by TheTallOne0602 » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:48 am

beaniew wrote:your admission status will depend only upon your LSAT score and gpa.
This isn't entirely true, or even if it was, we have no way of knowing this.

Are LSAT/GPA the most important part of your application? By far? Yes. But tons of other applicants will have basically your exact numbers, and the tiebreakers have to come from somewhere else.

Also, if you are interested in certain schools (Stanford, Berkeley, Northwestern and Yale have this reputation from the T-14, anyway), softs can matter even with good numbers.