What makes a dual degree 'worth it'? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
camelcrema

Bronze

What makes a dual degree 'worth it'?

Post by camelcrema » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:17 pm

There has been plenty of ire on this site about a JD/MBA not making sense for most applicants.
What about JD/MA programs? For example, would a JD/MA Econ make sense for someone looking to work in corporate or securities law? Assume that the additional degree takes an additional 6 months to 1 year.

NZA

Silver

Re: What makes a dual degree 'worth it'?

Post by NZA » Thu Dec 23, 2010 9:21 pm

camelcrema wrote:There has been plenty of ire on this site about a JD/MBA not making sense for most applicants.
What about JD/MA programs? For example, would a JD/MA Econ make sense for someone looking to work in corporate or securities law? Assume that the additional degree takes an additional 6 months to 1 year.
Depends on how much $$$ you're willing to spend?

I have no direct experience with this sort of question, but from experience (working for three years in law offices, both government offices), I knew only three attorneys with dual degrees. One was a JD/MBA, one was a JD/MA in Forestry, and one had an MA in Accounting and a JD he got later.

Soo...maybe it depends on what you'd like to do? Could be a good option for academia? I think most stuff you learn on the job, though?

Grizz

Diamond

Post by Grizz » Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:23 pm

Probs not worth it. No need for the MA to work for a big firm in such a capacity.

serdog

Bronze

Post by serdog » Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:50 pm

I hear it can be helpfully for the public sector and then it depend and what degree and where from JD/MPA from Yale and Woodrow Wilson is may be worth it well a program in which on or the other is TTT isn't worth it

Lokomani

New

Post by Lokomani » Sat Dec 25, 2010 12:17 pm