Good schools to study family law? Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
jamw90

New

Good schools to study family law?

Post by jamw90 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:10 pm

Hi, I am a sophomore at the University of Tennessee. I am majoring in child and family studies. I really want to study family law, and specialize in adoption law. I am kind of naive about this; but I was wondering what schools have good reputations for those programs (in state and out of state)?

bk1

Diamond

Re: Good schools to study family law?

Post by bk1 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:11 pm

I didn't read the question carefully enough. Shame on me.
Last edited by bk1 on Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

reasonable_man

Gold

Post by reasonable_man » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:16 pm

bk187 wrote:Go to the best school possible or the top regional school in the area you want to practice.

Also, IBdisco_barred.
OR not.. Family law tends to pay very little, no matter where you go. Go to the place that will leave you with the least amount of debt possible. Intern at a small family law firm while in school. No law school will be any better at "teaching" family law than any other school.

That said, Hofstra claims to have the best family law program (likely because the clinic is packed out with hofstra U-grads in need of advice following unplanned pregnancies and the like).

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:31 pm

Was on TLS autopilot and didn't really read before posting. Edited above to show I'm a 'tard. :P

worldtraveler

Platinum

Post by worldtraveler » Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:49 pm

If you're especially interested in adoption law, look up some family law professors and find any that specialize in that field specifically. There are also some schools that offer courses on children's rights or other things related to family law which may interest you.

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

reasonable_man

Gold