Is there such a thing as working 40 hours a week as a lawyer Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
audrey hepburn

New

Is there such a thing as working 40 hours a week as a lawyer

Post by audrey hepburn » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:23 am

Hello everyone,

Recently, everyone that I know and even on this forum have been warning me that as a lawyer I would have to work at least 70-80 hours/week. I know to make the most money you would have to, but do you guys know anyone or know if it's possible to work only 40 hours a week and make a decent living (70K +)? I'm looking to go into patent law but I really don't want my life to revolve around my work only. I'm willing to give up the 160K salary for a better quality of life.

Thanks in advance to everyone who responds.

Leeroy Jenkins

Silver

Re: Is there such a thing as working 40 hours a week as a lawyer

Post by Leeroy Jenkins » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:33 am

If you do patent prosecution, you will definitely start out working more than 40 hours a week. There is simply no way you're going to be time-efficient and at worse, your managing partner will probably cut down the number of hours you can bill even if you work more hours at 100% efficiency.

I doubt I need to tell you about what litigation is like.

Now the more lenient patent pros firms have minimum billables around 1800/yr (comes out to 35hrs a week) and still pay market, at least for first years. I would reckon 50hrs/week at such firms when you start out just to make the minimum billables

audrey hepburn

New

Post by audrey hepburn » Tue Apr 27, 2010 8:38 am

Leeroy Jenkins wrote:If you do patent prosecution, you will definitely start out working more than 40 hours a week. There is simply no way you're going to be time-efficient and at worse, your managing partner will probably cut down the number of hours you can bill even if you work more hours at 100% efficiency.

I doubt I need to tell you about what litigation is like.