college student needs advice (please) Forum

(Please Ask Questions and Answer Questions)
ernied1990

New

college student needs advice (please)

Post by ernied1990 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 3:58 pm

hello everybody
im a current college student working on my AA degree planning on completing my bachelors at a uni after im done with my AA.
i always had the dream of attending a top law school like harvard, yale etc.
i have a few Qs and i really appreciate if you guys can answer them.

1. When i transfer to a uni from my college after getting my AA to get my bachelors, my GPA will be reset and ill have a new GPA for the 2 years at the uni where ill be completing my bachelors. so does the law school look at my college GPA or my Uni GPA when admitting ?

2. What kind of social work like volunteering should i do ? and how much ?

3. what exactly is a reccomendation letter and from what kind of people should i get them from ?

4. Any suggestions for a student who is trying to get in to a top law school ?

Thanks,

I really appreciate all your responses

jks289

Silver

Re: college student needs advice (please)

Post by jks289 » Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:05 pm

1. Every grade before earning your BA counts to LSAC GPA, including community college work.

2. Whatever is sincere and interesting to you. If you find a meaningful way to give your time, great! But doing things for your resume isn't going to help much.

3. A LOR is a letter from an academic or professional reference; they talk about their knowledge and evaluation of your intelligence, maturity, and ability. Get them from professors with whom you have a close relationship. (If you can't think of anyone, start going to office hours)

4. Get really good grades and study your ass off for the LSAT. Enjoy your life. Goals are great, but don't miss out on the good stuff because you only think about going to HYS morning to night.

englawyer

Silver

Post by englawyer » Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:46 pm

ernied1990 wrote:hello everybody