MPRE after the Bar Forum

(housing, friendships, future exams, all things 2019)
ncheerharan

New

MPRE after the Bar

Post by ncheerharan » Tue May 21, 2019 5:08 pm

Hey guys, i'm not sure if someone else has posted this, but i'm panicking about this so posted to see if anyone had any insight or advice.

Basically, I wasn't sure I would be working in a law firm and thought I was going to work on Capitol Hill after graduation, so when I took the MPRE in March, i studied for 1 day. I basically skimmed the Barbri book they give you for free the day before the exam, skipping a few sections, and quickly skimmed the mini-outline in the back of the Barbri book the morning of the exam. I also may have had a few drinks the night before with a lady friend. Anyways, I took the MPRE and scored a 78.

3 weeks after the MPRE, I got offered a nice firm position in Missouri, which requires an 80 to be licensed. The job requires me to be a licensed attorney, aka I have to pass the Bar in July and pass the MPRE.

I paid for Barbri and i'm studying hard for the bar, but 10 days later on August 10th I will have to sit for the MPRE. I was planning on taking a few days off after the Bar just to let my brain recharge and for me to relax and calm down from the panic that the Bar induces. I figure 6 days of studying (I plan on watching that 6 hour video, reading through the 150-page book thoroughly and doing a couple of practice exams before reading the mini outline the morning of the test) will be enough for me to get that 80.

My main question is, is it realistic of me to be able to do this MPRE studying after the Bar? I dont really know anyone who has had to take the MPRE immediately after the Bar like I will, and I hate myself for not taking the MPRE seriously the first go around and now I am really placing myself in a bad position. If I pass the bar but not the MPRE, I may literally just quit the law and go enlist because of how mad I will be at myself.