Foreign-licensed attorney taking the CA Bar Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

Foreign-licensed attorney taking the CA Bar

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 20, 2022 3:06 pm

Hi, I am a foreign-licensed attorney who's considering taking the CA Bar exam in July 2023. I have done some research about how I should prepare for the exams but I read somewhere that foreign lawyer candidates are not required to learn and recite case law or statutory provisions. Hence, I am thinking that most of the tips I've read may not be applicable to me. Is that really the case? and if so, is there a specific set of exam questions that are only given to foreign applicants?

I have just emailed Themis Bar and have yet to hear news if they offer bar reviews for this specific type of exam.

As of now, the plan is to:
1. Start review with Themis in May 2022
2. Take the CA Bar exam in July 2023
3. Take the MPRE in August 2023

I am planning on studying just the materials that Themis would provide and nothing else. Would this be a good idea? Also, wouldn't more than 15 months be too long of a preparation?