(Texas) Bar exam eligibility as a Canadian lawyer Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
acal078

New

(Texas) Bar exam eligibility as a Canadian lawyer

Post by acal078 » Wed Aug 11, 2021 9:45 pm

Hi everyone, not sure if anyone will know the answer to this very specific question, but might as well give it a shot and might be helpful for others.

I am a Canadian lawyer, and I have been an associate for 2 years now (will begin my 3rd year in September). I have been considering a move to the U.S. and, specifically, to Texas as I have friends and family there. Since I will need to write the bar exam, I looked up the eligibility requirements for sitting the bar, and it looks like I need to have been practicing law for 3 of the last 5 years.

For those who don't know, in Canada, once we graduate law school, we write the bar exam, and then need to complete an "articling" period. You essentially are working as a lawyer under the guidance of a principal (a senior associate or a partner) for 10 months. After this, you get called to the bar and are officially a lawyer. While an articling student, you are called a "student-at-law", at least in Ontario where I reside.

My question is - does the 10 month articling period count towards the 3 in 5 years requirement, or does the timer start only as of the date I started as an associate? Since I am only a 2nd year associate now, this basically determines whether I can sit the Texas bar now, or if I have to wait another year.

Any information helps! Thank you.