California Moral Character Informal Conference Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
Anonymous User

California Moral Character Informal Conference

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 18, 2021 9:07 pm

Greetings.

I graduated from an ABA-accredited law school, passed the MPRE and California Bar Exams on my first try, and now I am waiting on my moral character application.

I hired a C&F attorney early on because I had three alcohol related arrests in college and law school. I have two years of sobriety behind me since my last arrest, and have finished many programs of alcohol education, awareness, and I have done substantial community volunteering since my last arrest.

I have been invited to the informal conference.

I am embarrassed about my alcoholic past but I understand that taking ownership of my past is crucial.

Does anybody have any words of wisdom, or what to expect from the informal conference? I graduated from law school in June of 2020, and I would like to start my legal career as a litigator, but obviously I still have this hurdle in front of me. Thank you.

Anonymous User

Re: California Moral Character Informal Conference

Post by Anonymous User » Thu May 27, 2021 9:08 am

I've been to an informatl conference. If you hired an attorney to help with the application, pay them to go with you. I went alone. It was an unmitigated disaster. I did not help myself at all by going alone. Probably would have been better off not going at all without a lawyer.