Should I just give up on the bar? Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
cloudyyo

New

Should I just give up on the bar?

Post by cloudyyo » Fri Dec 04, 2020 5:09 pm

To anyone who has been where I am now,

So I graduated from law school this May. Took the UBE in July 2020, and didn't pass. I was off by 26 points in a jurisdiction that requires 268 to pass. I've been preparing for the Feb 2021 UBE since mid-October.

When preparing for my first attempt, I solely used Themis. Thinking that was a mistake, I decided to focus more on practicing real MBE, MEE, and MPT's using Adaptibar, Emmanuel, and Crushendo.

Nearly seven weeks later, I have not been seeing my MBE practices (open book and untimed) go beyond 60 - 66%. The vast majority of my self-graded MEE practices are still at 3 (also open book and relaxed timing). I also find myself struggling with timing MPT practices.

To think having done all full 10-week prep, having taken the actual UBE, and getting a 2-month head start would place me at a somewhat stronger position, at least, for the practice questions, but it doesn't seem that way. It is frustrating. Heaven knows how much worse it is going to become when I start actually timing myself and doing the questions in closed-book form.

I am seriously feeling discouraged at this point. I feel my efforts are futile. With the fear and trauma of failing once before looming over me, I cannot summon the same confidence and motivation I had during the summer. Should I just give up on the bar?

cavalier1138

Re: Should I just give up on the bar?