Character and Fitness: Accused Professional Misconduct/What is a suspension Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
LTrent2021

New

Character and Fitness: Accused Professional Misconduct/What is a suspension

Post by LTrent2021 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 12:20 am

This question is reposted from reddit and is a little different from most as I was cleared of wrongdoing in the eyes of the Law: I was never charged with a crime and nobody ever said there was probable cause. I was a high school teacher and I had to stop one kid who had been running into my classroom from hurting other kids, which meant I had to attempt to restrain him after calling for help that never arrived. It was a very threatening situation. The kid accused me of assaulting him and the school placed me on non-disciplinary paid administrative leave for the rest of the year, which was about two weeks. I never taught school again, but there has never been any sanction on my teaching license. Eventually, I had to go to a Probable Cause Hearing, I believe because the kid filed the complaint, but I honestly don't know who filed the complaint. The judge looked at the evidence and said there was no probable cause, so I was never charged with any crime. Although, I decided not to teach in that environment again, the school had previously decided not to renew my contract.

Is paid-administrative leave a suspension? Some sources say yes, but others say no(https://www.leagle.com/decision/incaco20181002074). I'll disclose it if I have to, but I don't want it to delay or interfere with findings.