Alabama State Bar Admission as a Foreign-educated Law Graduate Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
UKGraduate

New

Alabama State Bar Admission as a Foreign-educated Law Graduate

Post by UKGraduate » Sun Nov 03, 2019 11:05 pm

Hi All,

I would like to seek some guidance in getting admitted to the Alabama State Bar (ASB).

I am a foreign-educated law graduate (English common law) who has not been admitted anywhere else. I sat the UBE in another state but did not pass it, however, my score is sufficient for an ASB admission. The rules on the ASB's website (or the NCBE comprehsnive guide) are not sufficiently clear (or at the very least, slightly ambiguous) on whether you need to also be admitted in another jurisdiction, in addition to the rest of the requirements, before being admitted to ASB.

Any help or hints would be very much appreciated.

Thank you in advance!

kmanskey

New

Re: Alabama State Bar Admission as a Foreign-educated Law Graduate

Post by kmanskey » Mon Nov 04, 2019 5:16 pm

My advice to you would be to go anywhere but Alabama and to just retake the UBE. In all likelihood, you would need to separately apply for and be approved for Alabama bar admission, along with getting your score transferred over. Most states don't recognize UBE scores from a jurisdiction in which you did not pass, even if that score would be considered passing in the jurisdiction.