judgment call questions Forum

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
perfunctory

Bronze

judgment call questions

Post by perfunctory » Thu Jul 04, 2019 1:58 pm

im studying for the bar and im having trouble with judgment call type questions. for example, a false imprisonment question would say someone was detained for an hour based on reasonable belief. i know that shopkeeper's privilege must be reasonable with respect to belief, manner, and time, so i thought that an hour would not be unreasonable. the hypo would have all sorts of details, like that the shopkeeper was not really doing much, etc., and the answer mentions this, but i thought those were distractions and do not speak to any of the elements. i get it if it was like "the suspect was detained for 2 hours, in a freezing dark room" but these judgment call type questions are killing me. i can imagine the examiner arguing the other way and i would have to accept it.

Bingo_Bongo

Bronze

Re: judgment call questions

Post by Bingo_Bongo » Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:19 pm

When judgement call questions appear on the MBE portion, they're usually pretty obvious with facts that could only lead to one reasonable conclusion if they expect you to conclude. If it's an essay, argue both ways.

In regards to your shopekeeper's privilege question, the detention must be based on probable cause that the customer stole, and it must be reasonable in time and manner. To determine if it's reasonable, look at whether or not the shopkeeper is taking prompt and reasonable steps to confirm or dispel suspicion.