Hamline Weekend Student Taking Questions Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Cowboy

New

Hamline Weekend Student Taking Questions

Post by Cowboy » Fri May 29, 2009 11:25 am

I am a Hamline weekend student who just finished their first year and I will be glad to answer any questions that anyone might have especially about the weekend program itself.

To forestall any of the inevitable comments, I will stipulate to the following:

1) The U of M is the big dog in MN.
2) William Mitchell has a much larger and well established alumni base and is very well thought of throughout the MN legal community.
3) St Thomas has all of those shiny new buildings that are very nice.

Having said that, I am extremely pleased with the high quality of the legal education at Hamline and even more pleased with the availability of the weekend program which was one of the deciding factors in my decision (which included turning down an acceptance to GW's part-time program).

I have also been very impressed with Hamline's willingness to offer $$$ to part-time students with good numbers (I am on a full scholarship) which is very different than many of the other PT programs to which I was accepted.

I await your questions ...

tjperry

New

Re: Hamline Weekend Student Taking Questions

Post by tjperry » Sat May 30, 2009 5:32 am

hamline 50% tuition scholarship (FT) or william mitchell 45% scholarship (FT) ? What would you do?

Cowboy

New

Post by Cowboy » Sun May 31, 2009 4:26 pm

tjperry wrote:hamline 50% tuition scholarship (FT) or william mitchell 45% scholarship (FT) ? What would you do?
That is a tough decision.

Since you are talking full time, the availability of the weekend program (which is a big plus for Hamline) is moot.