Florida Law Schools Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
FSUgrad07

New

Florida Law Schools

Post by FSUgrad07 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:57 pm

Good Afternoon All,

I am a recent undergrad in business at FSU and have been thinking about law school since I graduated just over a year ago. I live in the Tampa Bay area and now I am seriously considering applying to a law school in FL for 2010 fall term.

I am only looking in FL and would be perfectly happy attending law school and practicing just in FL. I'm at the beginning of the application process and I'm just trying to decide which FL law school would be the best fit for me. I was thinking that I would practice contract law or corporate litigation upon completing law school but that's honestly just based on my undergrad and work experience so who knows, I could very easily find interest in practicing something different once I'm actually in a program.

Does anyone have any insight or opinions on what school in FL would be best for business practice? I am also considering applying for JD/MBA program.....any thoughts......

starky259

New

Re: Florida Law Schools

Post by starky259 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:58 pm

Simple, UF. That might be hard to swallow as an FSU grad but their school is better for that kind of stuff.

FSUgrad07

New

Post by FSUgrad07 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:13 pm

Yeah that is a really really tough one to swallow. Given the area I live, I was considering applying to Stetson...I was fortunate and blessed enough to have a scholarship and graduate debt free from undergrad so the thought of private school debt is really scary and honestly freaks me out...but the majority of law schools in FL ARE private so I have to keep options open. Does anyone know anything about Barry in Orlando?

starky259

New

Post by starky259 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 4:31 pm