Evening Student, Real Life Exp, No Moot Court Exp Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
lawinchgo

New

Evening Student, Real Life Exp, No Moot Court Exp

Post by lawinchgo » Mon Mar 15, 2021 5:40 pm

Hello, I will try to keep this brief. I am a non-traditional student in law school. I am almost done except for 9 more credit hours. I work as a paralegal in insurance defense and have been doing so for more than 10 years. I have assisted attorneys from pre-suit claims to mediation and trial prep. Lately, I have been feeling a bit uneasy because Im not sure if those students who participate in extracurricular activities like moot/mock court really do have an edge?

I always felt my real life experience would be more advantageous so I guess I'm writing to find out if attorneys that are already practicing, if they see a resume for someone like me, would it matter to you that is not on my resume? Does real life experience trump a fabricated school hypo? Thank You!!

nixy

Gold

Re: Evening Student, Real Life Exp, No Moot Court Exp

Post by nixy » Mon Mar 15, 2021 7:03 pm

It's going to depend on the employer and what the extracurricular experience is.

I don't think mock trial/moot court are particularly important to any employers. Moot court gives you the chance to write a brief, to the extent getting a writing sample is helpful, but not many students walk out of law school and do appellate work. Mock trial gives you some practice getting up and examining/cross-examining witnesses, but I think most employers who throw you in court right away would rather see you get that experience in a real court in an internship or clinic. They're perfectly fine, but not at all necessary.