Curious about viability of Env. Law in Private Sector Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Rippec697

New

Curious about viability of Env. Law in Private Sector

Post by Rippec697 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:49 am

I'm currently deciding between two t-14 programs. One is expensive but more highly rated in env. law and overall, the other is cheaper and offers a concurrent degree program which may enhance my background in this field (I have limited prior experience in env. studies).

I'm also concerned about making money. How accessible is environmental law work in private firms, even big law? Is it possible to transition to PI from private practice, or vise versa?

Thanks
Last edited by cavalier1138 on Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Moved to appropriate form (0Ls cannot post in Legal Employment).

objctnyrhnr

Re: Curious about viability of Env. Law in Private Sector

Post by objctnyrhnr » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:18 pm

Are you sure that you want to do “environmental law” in the private sector? Oftentimes people who are really into the environment aren’t particularly into defending companies that harm it.

When the AGs office or something brings an action against a company for failure to abide by some sort of environmental-protection regulation, who do you think defends the company?

Just food for thought, on the chance you hadn’t already been thinking about this. I mention this because I had a similar exchange with a 1L recently and that 1L didn’t realize that advocating on behalf of the environment, regs, etc. is fairly inconsistent with working in the private sector.

Rippec697

New

Post by Rippec697 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 12:34 pm

True. I guess I'm thinking about administrative law within public private interest firms/plaintiffs firms. How common is this type of work?

crazywafflez

Silver

Post by crazywafflez » Wed Feb 24, 2021 4:30 pm