Software engineer to attorney? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
discocow

New

Software engineer to attorney?

Post by discocow » Mon May 18, 2020 1:14 am

I am a software engineer, graduated last year and joined a company in California the same year. Just about a year into the job, I seriously consider that being a software engineer might not be something that I want to be doing for the rest of my life. I developed an interest in practicing law.

Just curious to find out who else had similar experience (technical engineer -> JD student)? How is law school working for you and how do you plan your career path?

Sackboy

Silver

Re: Software engineer to attorney?

Post by Sackboy » Mon May 18, 2020 5:47 pm

What do you want to do with your law degree?

discocow

New

Post by discocow » Mon May 18, 2020 8:28 pm

Sackboy wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 5:47 pm
What do you want to do with your law degree?
The firm I work for is a leader in the filed, it holds a ton of patents and has a lot of international business, which spark my interest in IP & international trade laws.

nolifeloser

New

Post by nolifeloser » Tue May 19, 2020 1:25 pm

I wouldn't do it unless you are comfortable with lying, smoke and mirrors and scribing. If you're a bad or mediocre software engineer and so won't advance further in your field, it might make sense.

discocow

New

Post by discocow » Tue May 19, 2020 3:25 pm

nolifeloser wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 1:25 pm
I wouldn't do it unless you are comfortable with lying, smoke and mirrors and scribing. If you're a bad or mediocre software engineer and so won't advance further in your field, it might make sense.
OK that sounds very scary. What motivates you to draw that conclusion?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

cavalier1138

Post by cavalier1138 » Tue May 19, 2020 3:29 pm

discocow wrote: