Transfer from Harvard to Stanford Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
phasematch

New

Transfer from Harvard to Stanford

Post by phasematch » Thu May 19, 2016 12:48 am

Redirecting my question to the correct location, thanks suralin and lymenheimer!

I am a 0L, about to start at Harvard this fall. I am very interested in transferring to Stanford in my 2L. I understand that Harvard only has Honors (=4.0), Pass (=3.0), Low Pass (=2.0), and Fail (=0) grades. Last year, there were 2 transfers from Harvard to Stanford, but the transfer GPAs at Stanford are insane (75% = 3.97, 50% = 3.78, 25% =3.67). If I can only obtain passes (GPA 3.0) at Harvard, is there no chance of a transfer to Harvard?

And yes, Stanford rejected me. I am not confident that retaking the LSAT would improve my score. I am also a non-traditional student, so I would like to start law school sooner rather than later. I am aware of the third year visiting program, but it involves petitioning the school and a maximum of 5 students are approved for visiting programs every year.

I guess I would like to know if I can somehow improve my chances at transferring to Stanford.

Thanks for any insights you might have!

Aeon

Silver

Re: Transfer from Harvard to Stanford

Post by Aeon » Thu May 19, 2016 1:16 am

The best way to improve your chances of transferring is to get good grades. I'd imagine that Stanford would be willing to consider transfer applicants from Harvard with comparatively lower grades than if those applicants were from other schools, since the two are more or less peers.

Why do you want to transfer?

throwaway_

New

Post by throwaway_ » Thu May 19, 2016 2:49 am