Brief Advice for Incoming Students Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
BNA

Bronze

Brief Advice for Incoming Students

Post by BNA » Tue Apr 26, 2016 2:34 pm

You may have seen this before, but TYPING SPEED is critical. I'm a non-traditional student who came to school having to look at the keyboard when I typed. After going over my first semester exams with professors and other students, it was clear what held me to a slightly above average gpa - I hit the issues but had no time to elaborate. I typed about half the number of pages that the top students did, and it absolutely killed me.

Students who were able to crush word counts did notably better than others who could not. Practice hard this summer if you think you're deficient.

sublime

Diamond

Re: Brief Advice for Incoming Students

Post by sublime » Tue Apr 26, 2016 2:36 pm

BNA

Bronze

Post by BNA » Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:31 pm

Sublime, I discounted it too until a conversation I had today. Met with the professor and my buddy just tagged along. He is something like top 5%, and told me, in front of the professor, that he just typed literally every word that came to mind... ended up with something like 25 pages. I, on the other hand, was forced to be concise and deliberate, and wound up with 14. Same issues spotted, much less analysis. Debate over quantity vs quality followed.

I know it's anticedotal, but this is just one instance among many I've encountered post exam that made me think mashing the keyboard is tcr.

sublime

Diamond

Post by sublime » Tue Apr 26, 2016 4:55 pm

tomwatts

Gold

Post by tomwatts » Tue Apr 26, 2016 5:15 pm