Really Bad Grades 1st Semester Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
Troubled1L

New

Really Bad Grades 1st Semester

Post by Troubled1L » Fri Jan 08, 2016 10:24 pm

Contracts- C, LRW- B, Civ Pro- B, Torts- B for a whoppin 2.67 GPA. Contracts is five credits so that sucks

I'm at a random T2, not really random because it's in my state and I have a big conditional scholarship that I need a 2.8 GPA or top 80% of my class to keep it. What do you suggest I do? I have a bachelor's in history from an ivy league school, but no work experience. I have no clue what went wrong nor am I going to stress over it.

Mr. Jones

New

Re: Really Bad Grades 1st Semester

Post by Mr. Jones » Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:20 pm

Do better next semester. If you lose your scholarship, consider alternate career path. Who knows, if you are threatening to drop out maybe the school would let you keep some it so they can still make $. Doubtful though.

Someone once told me, when I first started school that if you understand the phrase "apply law to fact," that you will do well in school and pass the bar. I always thought I knew what it meant. But, by my third year when I did super well, I really knew what it meant. I use it now in practice. It's hard to explain . But, sit down and really really think about it. Until you know in your gut what it means.

TheSpanishMain

Gold

Post by TheSpanishMain » Sat Jan 09, 2016 11:02 am

Troubled1L wrote:I have no clue what went wrong nor am I going to stress over it.
This is kind of a weird statement. I'm not suggesting you should stress over it per se, since it is what it is and you can't change it at this point. But you seem like you don't give a shit. You should at least be trying to figure out what went wrong so you can do better next semester. If you lose that money the prudent thing would be to drop out.