Advice for 0L deciding on career in public interest law Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
estquigley

New

Advice for 0L deciding on career in public interest law

Post by estquigley » Fri May 09, 2014 9:22 pm

Hello everyone,

I am currently a 4th year undergraduate at a top public school entering my 5th year. The reason for this is because I decided to leave the pre-medical track during the beginning of my senior year. In short, I've decided that medicine is perhaps not the way that I would like to have my impact on people. I have always been an avid reader of classical literature and philosophy, and really been displeased at the fact that I've lacked the time to read for fun due to the busyness of my pre-medical studies.

In a career, I would like to have a broad exposure to people from many different walks of life, learn about their lives, and be involved in helping them to live more happily. I would really like to be a positive influence and "heal their minds", if I may. Through my experiences, I've developed an attraction towards the idea of defending people's rights, particularly those related to poverty, education, and other inequalities. I feel like education particularly lies at the root of some larger-scale problems, and that improved access to quality education would indirectly alleviate them. I would like to be involved in a career which really promotes the advancement of opportunities, and allows others to live in ways that many of us are used to, with much unhindered growth, at least relatively speaking. The lack of opportunities of many is something that is very salient to me.