- Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
DR3

New

-

Post by DR3 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 7:56 pm

-
Last edited by DR3 on Wed Sep 10, 2014 8:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: 0L Paralegal Work Opportunities?

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:03 pm

It's not the right place - as the rules at the top of this forum explain. Moving it to correct forum.

arklaw13

Gold

Post by arklaw13 » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:16 pm

From what I understand, Biglaw paralegals are usually hired for at least 1-2 years.

thesealocust

Platinum

Post by thesealocust » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:18 pm

arklaw13 wrote:From what I understand, Biglaw paralegals are usually hired for at least 1-2 years.
^

Finding anything like a biglaw paralegal gig for less than a year (and often less than 2 years) isn't realistic.

Para to Esq

New

Post by Para to Esq » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:22 pm

I am a paralegal at a top firm in NYC and have been a paralegal in NYC, DC, and LA (they make me move around a lot). Based on my experience here:

Would being able to say "I am attending X (of CCN) in the fall" bolster one's chances of landing such a position?
Absolutely not. It will hurt you. Once the firm knows that you intend to go to law school, your chances are nil. It takes a lot of time and effort to get an entry level (and I assume that you would be entry-level) paralegal up and running. For the first few/several months, you are pretty much an expense because you do not know enough about the firm, the practice area, etc., to make meaningful contributions. You would essentially be asking the firm to take a loss because you have nothing else to do. To be honest, as soon as an applicant demonstrates a desire to maybe go to law school at some point in their life, it's ding pile. At the last firm I worked at, if we thought you would leave for law school in less than two years, same result. It sucks, I know.