Biomechanics/Bioelectronics Patent Attorney Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
VMeyer4

New

Biomechanics/Bioelectronics Patent Attorney

Post by VMeyer4 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:53 am

Hi,

I am a fourth year undergraduate student in Bioengineering (5 year program, as co-op is mandatory). Much of my recent research says that if I want to obtain a position as a biotech patent attorney, I should obtain an advanced degree in Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, etc. However, I am looking to work in biomechanics and bioelectronics. According to a patent attorney I recently spoke with, those two areas fall more into the realm of mechanical and electrical, so an advanced degree would not be necessary. What are your thoughts on this?

chem

Silver

Re: Biomechanics/Bioelectronics Patent Attorney

Post by chem » Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:09 am

VMeyer4 wrote:Hi,

I am a fourth year undergraduate student in Bioengineering (5 year program, as co-op is mandatory). Much of my recent research says that if I want to obtain a position as a biotech patent attorney, I should obtain an advanced degree in Biomedical Engineering, Biotechnology, etc. However, I am looking to work in biomechanics and bioelectronics. According to a patent attorney I recently spoke with, those two areas fall more into the realm of mechanical and electrical, so an advanced degree would not be necessary. What are your thoughts on this?
Advanced degree is not necessary in any case, but would be immensely helpful. If there is that much overlap, I'd see what kind of investment a Masters would be in EE, and then you would be all set

typ3

Silver

Post by typ3 » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:57 pm