STEM Masters for IP/Patent Law? Forum

A forum for applicants and admitted students to ask law students and graduates about law school and the practice of law.
yot11

Bronze

STEM Masters for IP/Patent Law?

Post by yot11 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:26 pm

I'm currently a senior at my undergrad completing an engineering major and was recently offered a chance to enroll in the BS/MS program where I can get my masters in an additional year without having to take the GRE, etc.

My question is whether having a MS in that field would be worth the additional year of my time and tuition for employment purposes? I understand that it has no effect on admissions, but are there other benefits to getting a MS and delaying law school for a year? Especially given the current application climate.

EDIT: I believe that a MS/PhD is almost required to be competitive for life science undergrad degrees, but what about for BSME/BSEE students?

bk1

Diamond

Re: STEM Masters for IP/Patent Law?

Post by bk1 » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:46 pm

Depends on what are of STEM. This should help:

http://www.top-law-schools.com/search-f ... sa.y=-1922

MormonChristian

Bronze

Post by MormonChristian » Thu Sep 05, 2013 1:24 am

yot11 wrote:I'm currently a senior at my undergrad completing an engineering major and was recently offered a chance to enroll in the BS/MS program where I can get my masters in an additional year without having to take the GRE, etc.

My question is whether having a MS in that field would be worth the additional year of my time and tuition for employment purposes? I understand that it has no effect on admissions, but are there other benefits to getting a MS and delaying law school for a year? Especially given the current application climate.

EDIT: I believe that a MS/PhD is almost required to be competitive for life science undergrad degrees, but what about for BSME/BSEE students?